Rota • Aguigan • Tinian • Saipan • Farallon de Medinilla • Anatahan • Sarigan • Guguan • Alamagan • Pagan • Agrihan • Asuncion • Maug • Farallon de Pajaros

2017 Law Week Activities 


On April 28, 2017, the members of the Judicial, Executive and Legislative branches signed two proclamations designating May 1st as Law Day, a national day set aside to celebrate the rule of law, and the month of May as Drug Court Month.

The 2017 Law Day theme is "The 14th Amendment: Transforming American Democracy."

This week's Law Week activities included the Poster and Essay Awards Ceremony held on May 3, 2017. This year's winners include 1st Place (Chief Justice Award) Brent Ortizo (6th Grade, Mount Carmel School) for the essay contest and 1st Place (Presiding Judge Award) Juris Gian G. Cabarles (2nd Grade, Tinian Elementary School) for the poster contest. The list of winners can be found here.

This morning, May 5, 2017, the Judiciary hosted the 33rd Annual Attorney General's Cup Speech Competition. Zeno C. Deleon Guerrero, a senior from MCS, placed 1st place. Shae Kennedy from Saipan International School came in 2nd, and Yuuki Nishida from MHS came in 3rd. Eight schools participated including Dr. Rita Hocog Inos Jr. & Sr. High School, Saipan Southern High School, Grace Christian Academy, Marianas Baptist Academy, and Kagman High School.

New Court Fees to Take Effect March 1st


On Tuesday, February 21, 2017, the Commonwealth Supreme Court issued Administrative Order No. 2017-ADM-0003-MSC, In Re the Northern Mariana Islands Fee Schedule, which supersedes the October 2006 fee schedule.

The new fee schedule is effective March 1, 2017. Copies of the Public Notice, Supreme Court Order and the fee schedule can be viewed here, on the Law Revision Commission's website at, or under New Court Fees in Recent Court News link above.

CNMI Judiciary to Host PJC Biennial Conference


The Northern Mariana Islands Judiciary will host the Pacific Judicial Council (PJC) Biennial Conference from September 26-29, 2017. The PJC consists of the judiciaries from the Northern Marianas, Guam, Palau, Pohnpei, Kosrae, Chuuk, Yap and American Samoa. The Conference allows participating judges and justices to share and discuss ideas to improve court administration and delivery of justice, providing a collaborative forum for participants to brainstorm solutions to common challenges in the islands.

Approximately 35 judges and justices are anticipated to attend.

Click more for full story.

Supreme Court Decisions

Website Builder